The judgment decides only these two claimants' compensation. It does not fix a rule that every brain injury equals 100% disability — the assessment turned on lifelong dependence, the need for an attendant, and total loss of earning capacity on these facts. It also does not revisit negligence or liability, which were not in dispute.
- Case
- Sunil Kumar (Totally Disabled, represented by wife) v. IFFCO Tokio General Insurance Company Limited (with Sreejith K.S. v. IFFCO Tokio)
- Court
- Supreme Court of India
- Decision
- Citation
- 2026 INSC 1145
- Bench
- Justice S.V.N. Bhatti; Justice N.V. Anjaria
- Judgment by
- N.V. Anjaria, J.
- Case numbers
- Civil Appeal No. 13542 of 2026 (arising out of SLP (C) No. 21292 of 2026); Civil Appeal No. 13543 of 2026 (arising out of SLP (C) No. 21441 of 2026)
- Outcome
- Both civil appeals allowed: compensation enhanced to Rs.77,84,394 for Sunil Kumar and Rs.69,60,880 for Sreejith K.S., with 6.5% interest on the additional amounts; insurer to deposit within six weeks.
The ruling
On 15 October 2026, the Supreme Court enhanced motor-accident compensation for two injured claimants, holding that a victim who is totally disabled and needs an attendant for life suffers 100% functional disability even when the medical board certifies a lower figure.
Writing for the Bench, Justice N.V. Anjaria held Sunil Kumar — a 43-year-old pillion rider left with severe brain injuries after a 2016 scooter collision — to be 100% functionally disabled, not 75.5% as medically certified, and raised his total compensation to Rs.77,84,394. In the companion appeal of Sreejith K.S., the 22-year-old driver of the scooter, the Court assessed functional disability at 80% (against 62% medical) and raised his compensation to Rs.69,60,880. IFFCO Tokio, the insurer, must deposit the additional amounts with 6.5% interest within six weeks.
- Supreme Court: Sunil Kumar (Totally Disabled, represented by wife) v. IFFCO Tokio General Insurance Company Limited (with Sreejith K.S. v. IFFCO Tokio), 15 October 2026 (2026 INSC 1145; official signed reportable judgment, 27 pages)paras 5.1.3, 5.5, 6.2.1, 6.7, 7-8; PDF pp. 12, 19-20, 21-22, 24-25, 26-27
The accident and the awards below
On 22 October 2016, around 7:40 in the morning near the Paliyekkara toll plaza on the Thrissur–Kodara road, a scooter driven rashly and negligently collided with the scooter carrying Sunil Kumar as pillion rider and Sreejith K.S. as driver. Both were thrown to the ground with serious injuries.
The Motor Accident Claims Tribunal at Irinjalakuda awarded Sunil Kumar Rs.19,91,954 and Sreejith Rs.16,03,400 in 2021, each with 8% interest. The Kerala High Court enhanced these to Rs.36,22,644 and Rs.27,70,664 respectively in January 2026. Both claimants appealed to the Supreme Court, dissatisfied with the extent of the enhancement.
Why 75.5% became 100%
Sunil Kumar suffered an open diffuse axonal injury, a midbrain contusion with Weber's syndrome, and a penetrating left-knee injury. The medical board fixed permanent disability at 75.5%, but the Court said permanent disability cannot be assessed without considering what the injuries do to the victim's life. He would need an attendant and a bystander throughout his life and suffered higher-grade psychiatric disability: a man who remains dependent on another for his daily life and cannot work at all suffers 100% functional disability — total loss of earning capacity.
The Court grounded this in its recent doctrine: Shankar Dutt drew the conceptual distinction between medically certified disability and the functional disability actually felt in day-to-day life and avocation; Jithendran required a realistic recompense where severe cognitive dysfunction makes the functional disability 100% despite a 69% physical assessment; and Reliance General Insurance v. Priyanka Das assessed functional disability by earning capacity in the open competitive market. With 100% disability, 25% future prospects and the Sarla Verma multiplier of 14 for his age, the loss of earning capacity alone came to Rs.31,50,000.
The attendant-charge multiplier
The Court also corrected how lifelong attendant charges are computed. Relying on Kajal v. Jagdish Chand, it applied the multiplier method — the same system used for loss of income, which balances inflation, interest, longevity and life's uncertainties — rather than a flat monthly figure. For Sunil Kumar, attendant charges came to Rs.25,20,000 (Rs.15,000 monthly income × 12 × multiplier 14); for Sreejith, Rs.22,68,000 (Rs.10,500 × 12 × multiplier 18, per Hansraj v. Mukesh Nath).
Future medical expenses were maintained at Rs.10,00,000 for Sunil Kumar and fixed at Rs.8,00,000 for Sreejith, following Reliance General Insurance. The Court left the High Court's awards for pain and suffering and loss of amenities (Rs.2,50,000 each) undisturbed, and for the 22-year-old Sreejith — an energetic youngster at the time of the accident — added Rs.5,00,000 for loss of marriage prospects, citing Raj Kumar v. Ajay Kumar.
The final numbers
Sunil Kumar's compensation was recomputed to Rs.77,84,394 (up from Rs.36,22,644): the additional Rs.41,61,750 carries interest at 6.5% per annum from the date of the claim petition — a lower rate than the 8% awarded below on the original sum — till realisation. Sreejith's total became Rs.69,60,880 (up from Rs.27,70,664): the additional Rs.41,90,216 likewise carries 6.5% from the date of application.
The insurer must deposit both additional amounts with interest before the Tribunal within six weeks; the Tribunal will then transfer the sums directly into the claimants' bank accounts after identification. The Court upheld the High Court's income findings — Rs.15,000 a month for Sunil Kumar and a notional Rs.10,500 for Sreejith, guided by Ramachandrappa — without interference.
BANTHRY ANALYSISFor law students
The core lesson is the medical–functional disability distinction. Medical disability measures the body's impairment; functional disability measures what the injury does to earning capacity in the open competitive market. A lifelong attendant, total dependence and higher-grade psychiatric disability can convert a 75.5% medical figure into 100% functional disability — compare the facts the Court weighed in Jithendran and Reliance General Insurance.
The second lesson is methodological: recurring future needs — attendant charges here — are capitalised with the multiplier, not awarded as flat monthly sums, because the multiplier already prices in inflation, interest, longevity and uncertainty. And note the arithmetic discipline: every head (income × 12 × disability% × (1 + future prospects) × multiplier) is computed step by step, so an error in any factor — income, prospects, multiplier, disability — compounds through the whole award.
READING PROMPTSQuestions for a closer reading
- Why did the Court assess Sunil Kumar's functional disability at 100% even though the medical board certified 75.5%, and what facts supported that assessment?
- How does the multiplier method for attendant charges work, and why did the Court prefer it over a flat monthly figure?
- On what basis did the Court award Rs.5,00,000 for loss of marriage prospects to Sreejith but not to Sunil Kumar?